November – already?

I can hardly believe that we are so far into November already! After a long time without painting – and without feeling particularly creative for ages – I went on holiday in October to Malta  with my two sisters. Sadly my husband died (from cancer) in late July and perhaps it was the passing of time and the sense of no responsibility but I felt able to try painting again.

Like anything, if you don’t use it you lose it, so these two offerings are hesitant but painted largely at the time and place and not from photographs. I also didn’t have long to complete them… one was in the morning whilst I drank a cup of coffee and waited for two sleepyheads to wake… the other was on the beach whilst the two sleepyheads snoozed!

I have signed up to do a watercolour course early next year with a local artist who encourages ‘loose painting’ and ‘not colouring in detailed drawings’ which sounds like the art I want to create!  And painting with/in front of people may make me less shy about my work. I am also going to try some lino cutting/printing … I can make a mess now and not have to tidy unless someone is visiting… ah well.

mellieha-bay ghajn-tuffieha

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to November – already?

  1. My empathy is surrounding you. Having been, myself, where you are at this juncture in your journey…I know that vacuum. It is deafening to the point of stillness. Everything stops. Please accept my sincere thoughts. Raye

  2. kestrelart says:

    Kathy, we know so little about each other from these blogs. I am so sorry for your loss. Neil

    • designsweet says:

      Thanks – it is a strange world blogging… we know odd bits about each other… you cycle, have kids, went to Liverpool, won a prize – there are some things we should share. Well done!

      • kestrelart says:

        I had to think hard about sharing my good news here. I thought though that people who have clicked like and who comment over the years might like to know. I also value what you have shared, and I hope it brings you some comfort that other bloggers here are thinking if you.

  3. Carol King says:

    Oh, my deepest condolences to you and your family. I hope that your art and your creative process it will help you through this difficult time. I echo the other posts here. We know our blogger friends only a little, but I truly feel for you.

    I have always wanted to visit Malta. Thank you for sharing your beautiful sketches of that island.

  4. Reading through your posts Kathy, I am so sorry to read this. I wish to echo Neil’s thoughts, we know so little about each other and yet feel so connected somehow. Like Neil and the other followers of your blog, I’m thinking of you, Maxine

Leave a Reply

