Splatter…

Not sure about this – I love bits of it (the shadow being under the paint is great) but I think perhaps it wasn’t the best picture to try. Probably need something far ‘grittier’. But I do like the idea of a grisaille underneath. I have heard that using a red film over the colour photo gives a good idea of the values. Has anyone else heard of this? Does it work? I cheated and turned the photo into greyscale before printing it out!

Busy doing other (real) work at the moment, the visitors have started to return and we have landscapers working outside at the moment – so I am having to make endless tea and coffee!! All cuts into painting time!

splatter

 

This entry was posted in Art, beach huts, Painting, sketching, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Splatter…

  1. lesliepaints says:

    Oh, I think you did great! I enlarged this and I like what the splatter added in the way of drawing my eye around the painting! One place where it is most apparent is the splatter on the ground, to the right of the fence line, that pushes my eye to the background and the row of buildings. Then, the splatter on the background buildings to the right, shove my eye back to the red building to make me focus on it. Love it!

  2. Carol King says:

    This looks terrific! I love the splatter. Would also love to see a “grittier” painting done by you using this technique.

    And yes, I have heard of using the red film over color pictures to get the values. It really does work. More of these, please. 🙂

  3. violetski says:

    This is really lovely! ❤️ I love the splatter too.

Leave a Reply

