Quick! An offer to discover 14 magic words that are proven to save you money, get results, guarantee you love, health and happiness – read on now!

This is a free giveaway. There they are, 14 words that copywriters use daily in their work when writing adverts, sales letters, brochures, websites and blogs. There are another 4 but I couldn’t work them into the sentence.
Last week I went to an entertaining and informative talk on copywriting for designers. It wasn’t that I expected to learn anything really new – but it is good to be reminded of things. The speaker mentioned the two main principles that copywriters employ – AIDA and YOU. AIDA, as you know, stands for Attention, Interest, Desire and Action. The headline sentence does just that. Though rarely do you want to just employ one sentence! YOU is simple – you should use the word ‘you’ more that ‘we’. Sometimes I call this the ‘so what?’ principle. Relying on the word ‘we’ will turn people off – talk about your clients not about yourself.

The principles of good copywriting are not complicated or difficult. Good copy comes from being yourself when you write, from looking at your business from your client’s point of view, planning what you want to say and saying it simply. If you don’t feel that you can do it justice or want to have it looked at with a professional eye then contact a copywriter. These are just a few good proven methods to help improve your sales and win you more clients – we employ dozens more for our clients everyday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick! An offer to discover 14 magic words that are proven to save you money, get results, guarantee you love, health and happiness – read on now!

  1. whimseytopia says:

    I’ve been working my way up your archive list, but need to get my day started. These are very interesting posts, and you write well. I was looking for more art, and I hope to get to that point tonight. What attracted me was your comment on someone else’s post – now long forgotten – with the wrapped candy. Entirely too cute!

    But here I had to mention my aversion to words like “free,” “give-away,” “quick,” “results,” and “guarantee.” When I see them I quickly look away, or throw the envelope out, or mute the television; you get the idea. It’s my age I suppose. But I feel I’ve reached my threshold for being sold anything.

    I too am a wordsmith, artist (not a very good one), and knitter. Looking forward to reading more of your marketing musings and seeing your art.

Leave a Reply

