Even the big boys do it…

We have had to buy a new car recently. The old car was pronounced dead and not worth repairing after 14 years of faithful service. So we went car shopping. And I picked up brochures everywhere we went. Some of them are beautiful – shiny cars and magnificent dashboards – pages of technical details. Pages of choices you can make: alloy wheels,   different fabrics for seats, ABS, EPS, metallic colours – the list goes on and on. I like cars.  I like driving. So I sat and looked through the brochures I had collected. Then I saw it. The typo. Staring at me – Quicklclear. We’ve got Quickclear windows…now I want Quicklclear windows.

So when we had chosen our car (very smart – chosen as much for its design and look as its driveability) we went home and I took a quick look at the other brochures. Almost the first page I looked at I found a ‘typo’ – independant. Though in my view that’s not really a typo – that’s a spelling error (when my English teacher would have put ‘Sp’ in red letters in the margin). Both of these errors would have been picked up with ‘spell-check’ and I am sure that both Mazda and Ford have paid dearly for the design of their brochures, and probably had it proof-read! It didn’t make me not buy the car – I am possibly one of the few people who have read the brochure – but it doesn’t reflect well to have typos on either the company or the design agency. Neither brochure (luckily) had the designer’s name on it.

This entry was posted in Marketing, Typesetting & design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

